Skip to Main Content
Press Release

Peter Shepard Recognized Among “40 Under Forty” Illinois Attorneys to Watch


2 minute read

Peter Shepard Recognized Among “40 Under Forty” Illinois Attorneys to Watch

Much is excited to announce that Peter Shepard, principal and vice chair of the firm’s Corporate & Finance group, has been named to Law Bulletin Media’s “40 Under Forty” list of notable Illinois attorneys for 2023.

Now in its 24th year, the annual 40 Under Forty list recognizes talented young attorneys who were nominated by clients and peers based on their legal acumen, achievements, and service to the community. Peter was selected from a group of more than 1,000 nominations of lawyers throughout Illinois.

Peter is a seasoned corporate attorney who represents clients in a wide range of business matters. He focuses his practice on mergers and acquisitions and outside general counsel services for private and public companies, entrepreneurs, and private equity firms. Peter regularly represents private equity firms and highly acquisitive companies seeking to expand their businesses through acquisitions. He provides strategic advice as he guides his clients through business combinations, capital raises, and exit opportunities. Peter also advises on corporate restructuring, joint ventures, and commercial finance transactions.

Nominators praised Peter for his ability to understand complex seller and counsel personalities to reach successful closings. “He is an excellent deal lawyer,” one nominator said. “Peter has the experience and skillset to quickly distill issues relating to any of our transactions. He has the emotional intelligence to utilize this skillset to read the other parties involved and identify what is really important to them.”

Read more about Peter's accomplishments in the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin's 40 Under Forty feature.

Past Much recipients of the 40 Under Forty honor include Steve Blonder (2005), Patrick Brennan (2019), Juli Dreifuss (2022), Matt Feery (2021) Greg Mann (2007), Courtney Mayster (2012), Jason Rosenthal (2010), Mitchell Roth (2001), Michael Shaw (2009), and Michael Zalay (2020).

View our congratulatory ad highlighting Peter and his award.